Jannik Sinner and his coaches, Darren Cahill and Simone Vagnozzi, are honored to be nominated for the 2023 ATP Awards, after nominations for four categories for players, in addition to Coach of the Year, were announced this Wednesday.

Sinner has been nominated for Most Improved Player of the Year, following a breakout season in which he rose to a career-high No. 4 in the Pepperstone ATP Rankings, winning four titles in seven finals. He shares a candidacy in this category with his Davis Cup teammate, Matteo Arnaldi, as well as Americans Christopher Eubanks and Ben Shelton. At 22 years old, the Italian is also nominated for the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award, to which Carlos Alcaraz, Grigor Dimitrov and Hubert Hurkacz aspire.

For their part, Cahill and Vagnozzi have been nominated in the coach category, along with Craig Boynton (Hubert Hurkacz), 2022 winner Juan Carlos Ferrero (Carlos Alcaraz), Goran Ivanisevic (Novak Djokovic) and Bryan Shelton (Ben Shelton) . Ivanisevic accompanied Djokovic on his way to a record eighth time finishing as ATP No. 1 at the end of the year presented by Pepperstone this season.

Arthur Fils, top seed this week at the Next Gen ATP Finals presented by NEOM, is one of five nominees for Breakthrough of the Year, which includes the #NextGenATP players who entered the Top 100 this year for the first time in 2023.

Nominees for Comeback Player of the Year, Most Improved Player and the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award will be determined by votes from ITWA (International Tennis Writers Association) members. The Coach of the Year is chosen in the first vote by the ATP coaches.

The ATP awards, including Fan Favorite, will be announced during awards week beginning December 11. Fans can vote for their favorite singles players and doubles team until Friday, December 1.

You May Also Like: Who Are Your Favorite Player and Team? Vote Now for the 2023 ATP Awards

Check the complete list of nominees for the 2023 ATP Awards:


Comeback of the year: The player who, after overcoming a serious injury, has once again positioned himself among the best players in the world on the ATP Tour.

Dominik Koepfer
Gael Monfils
Jan-Lennard Struff
Alexander Zverev

Most Improved Player of the Year: The player who signed a significant rise in the Pepperstone ATP Rankings at the end of the year and who demonstrated increasingly better performance throughout the season.

Matteo Arnaldi
Christopher Eubanks
Ben Shelton
Jannik Sinner

Breakout of the year: The #NextGenATP player who broke into the Top 100 of the Pepperstone ATP Rankings for the first time in 2022 and had the biggest impact on the ATP Tour this season.

Flavio Cobolli
Arthur Son
Alex Michelsen
Dominic Stricker
Luca Van Assche

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: The player who, during the year, had the most professional and upright behavior, having competed with his teammates with the maximum spirit of nobility, in addition to promoting the sport in his actions off the court.

Carlos Alcaraz
Grigor Dimitrov
Hubert Hurkacz
Jannik Sinner


Coach of the year: Nominated and chosen by ATP coaches, this award recognizes the ATP coach who helped his or her player reach the highest level of performance during the year.

Craig Boynton (Hubert Hurkacz)
Darren Cahill and Simone Vagnozzi (Jannik Sinner)
Juan Carlos Ferrero (Carlos Alcaraz)
Goran Ivanisevic (Novak Djokovic)
Bryan Shelton (Ben Shelton)

Source: https://www.atptour.com/es/news/atp-awards-2023-nominees-revealed

Leave a Reply